Proposition 206, the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (“the Act”), which incrementally increases minimum wage over the next several years became effective January 1, 2017, raising the state’s minimum wage from $8.05 per hour to $10.00 per hour.
The Act also requires that employers give notice of the new Act alongside other employee notices (i.e., in a conspicuous place accessible to employees). To help employers comply with this new requirement, the Industrial Commission of Arizona has published a Minimum Wage poster for 2017, which can be found online here. Employers must be in compliance with this new posting requirement on or before January 1, 2017.
As the state’s minimum wage is set to gradually increase each year under the Act, reaching $12.00 per hour by the year 2020, it is likely that updated posters will be issued annually by the Industrial Commission. Arizona employers are encouraged keep up with any updates released by the Commission. The lawyers at Faulkner Law Offices, PLLC can help you to navigate this or any other employment related issue.